Skip to Main Content

Tippecanoe, Battle of (7 November 1811): Articles & Documents

Journal Articles

Bottiger, Patrick. "Prophetstown for Their Own Purposes." Journal Of The Early Republic 33, no. 1 (Spring2013 2013): 29-60. (EBSCO)
Carlson, Richard G., ed. "George P. Peters' Version of the Battle of Tippecanoe (November 7, 1811)." Vermont History 45, no. 1 (Winter 1977): 38-43.
Elmore, Barce. “Tecumseh’s Confederacy.” Indiana Magazine of History 12, no. 2 (June 1916): 161-174. (article can be found by searching the Indiana Magazine of History database)
Lambert, Robert S. “The Conduct of the Militia at Tippecanoe: Elihu Stout’s Controversy with Colonel John P. Boyd, January, 1812.” Indiana Magazine of History 51, no. 3 (September 1955): 237-250. (article can be found by searching the Indiana Magazi
Larrabee, Charles, and Florence Watts. “Lieutenant Charles Larrabee’s Account of the Battle of Tippecanoe, 1811”. Indiana Magazine of History 57, no. 1 (September 1961): 225-247. (article can be found by searching the Indiana Magazine database)
Naylor, Isaac. “The Battle of Tippecanoe.” Indiana Magazine of History 2, no. 4 (December 1906): 163-169. (article can be found by searching the Indiana Magazine of History database)
Netherton, Theresa. "A Leader With Vision." Cobblestone 33, no. 8 (October 2012): 12-14. (EBSCO)
Schultheis, Rose. “Harrison’s Councils with Tecumseh.” Indiana Magazine of History 27, no. 1 (March 1931): 40-49. (article can be found by searchingthe Indiana Magazine of History database)
Smelser, Marshall. “Tecumseh, Harrison, and the War of 1812.” Indiana Magazine of History 65, no. 1 (March 1969): 25-44. (article can be found by searching the Indiana Magazine of History database)
Soodalter, Ron. "The Gods of Prophetstown: The Battle of Tippecanoe and the Holy War for the American Frontier." Military History 29, no. 5 (January 2013): 76-77
West, Elliott. "Tecumseh's Last Stand." American History 47, no. 5 (12, 2012): 34-41. (Proquest)
Whickar, J. Wesley. “Shabonee’s Account of Tippecanoe.” Indiana Magazine of History 17, no. 4 (December 1921): 353-363. (article can be found by searching the Indiana Magazine of History database)

Documents

To Compel with Armed Force: a Staff Ride Handbook for the Battle of Tippecanoe

Bibliography of Articles in Chicago Format

Battle of Tippecanoe article bibliography